I love to read. Or rather, I love to listen to books on audio. I am one busy girl and having the time to sit down and enjoy a good book is just not something I can squeeze into my already stretched schedule. So, since I have had a two hour daily commute for almost two years, I have taken a strong liking to books on audio. There are two things I love doing in this world more than anything: shopping for fresh produce and listening to books on audio. Below is a list of some of my favorite books that I have either listened to or actually read, years ago when I was not such a busy lady.

Books

 Books with the strikethrough represent books that I did not love, but managed to make it all the way though.

10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self Help That Actually Works–True Story  -By Dan Harris  

All of the Harry Potter Books -By J.K. Rowling

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (entire series)-By Steig Larson

The Hunger Games (Entire Series)-By Suzanne Collins

The Choice, The Best of Me, A Bend in the Road-By Nicholas Sparks

(If you are in need of a good tear jerker and feel good story, look no further than these three Nicholas Sparks books. They are all amazing.)

 You Can’t Make This Stuff Up-By Theresa Caputo

Heaven is for Real-Thomas Nelson

(Truly a feel good story if you are believer. Otherwise, you may not want to read this book.)

The Wettest County in the World-Matt Boundurant

(This book was made into a movie called Lawless. Both the book and the movie were as interesting as they were entertaining. A must read and a must see.)

The Skinny Girl Rules-By Bethanny Frankel

 Twilight, Breaking Dawn-By Stephanie Meyer

(Save yourself the misery and just see the movie. That is all I have to say about that.)

Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead-By Neal Scovell and Sheryl Sandberg

(This book was absolutely empowering, eye opening, and introspective. If you are a woman who is struggling between a career and a family, then this is an absolute must read!)

The Fault in Our Stars-By John Green

(I cried like a baby. No joke, I balled from beginning to end. Read this book.)

Gone Girl-By Gillian Flynn

(It took me a while to really get into this book, but when I did, I could not turn it off. Gone Girl was insanely suspenseful. I literally wanted to punch both characters in the face because they were both so crazy, but both totally riveting. Again this is a must read, or a must see as this book was made into a movie, which is also called Gone Girl.)

 Dorothy Must Die-By Danielle Paige

(Dorothy Must die was a very cool twist on The Wizard of OZ, but the second book, The Wicked Will Rise, was awful. I literally listened to about five minutes of the book before I realized it was not worthy of attention.

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic and Madness at the Fair that Changed America-By Erik Larson

(You have to read this book. The Devil in the White City explores the creation of The World’s Fair, in Chicago and the life of Henry Mudgett who is one of the most notorious serial killers of all time. This book is disturbing, interesting, and full of interesting knowledge, like when the first Pabst Blue Ribbon was introduced!)

P.S. This just in: The Devil in the White City is being turned into a movie, staring the amazing Leonardo DiCaprio. Check the link below to read the article in Vanity Fair!

http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2015/08/leonardo-dicaprio-martin-scorsese-devil-in-the-white-city-serial-killer

Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Little Golden Book-By Diane Muldrow

GOLDEN Books

 

(I love this book. Some of the most interesting life lessons ever learned are in this book. I mean, honestly, being open to making new friends is key in life! Life lesson learned.)

Let me know what you think! What are your favorite books? Got any good suggestions for me? Do tell!

 

