The Holocaust Memorial

Hand

While on vacation in Miami, I would have been very disappointed in myself if I did not visit the Holocaust Memorial. Originally, I was unaware that this specific memorial existed in Miami, but thanks to an amazing Uber driver, I became empowered with knowledge. Visiting the Holocause Memorial while taking a three hour bike ride through Miami, was worth every sore muscle.

Truly, I am saddened about how devastating our history as humans can be sometimes. On a regular basis, I struggle knowing that people who live in America can be hungry or deprived of their humanity, so understanding how millions of people could have been so dehumanized for their religious beliefs blow my mind. Although, if we take a look at our current state of war throughout the entire World, it seems as though religion is usually the major cause of war, injustices and dehumanization.

I hope that one day, our desire to love each other for who we are as people will triumph, rather than hate one another because of the color of our skin, the religions we choose to practice and the geographical locations we were born into. I hope, as sad as it is to say, that the Holocaust and the death of so many helpless people will show us that our past does not need to be our future. In my heart, I have a deep love for human life, as I know so many others do.

Let love light the way, let hate burn out, and let us all stand as one–humans.

“How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” -Anne Frank

http://holocaustmemorialmiamibeach.org/learn/history/

The Miami Museum of Art

Deer

Above is a photo of the next place I hit up during my trip to Miami. The deer is not as sentimental as the memorial, but it truly is beautiful. The deer was discovered at the Miami Museum of Art, which is currently under construction. However, if the museum was open, you better believe I would have taken my little shrimp cocktails (my legs) into that venue.

https://www.mfah.org/?gclid=CNvXw4j9k8oCFQmOaQod4s0J8A

